skip navigation

WPLL's New York Fight and MLL's New York Lizards Join Forces to Announce Doubleheader Games on 6/30 at James Shuart Stadium in Hempstead, NY, Featuring WPLL Clinic Prior to Games

By Jon Bird, 03/08/18, 10:15AM EST


Two New York based WPLL teams play double header before New York Lizards game.

The Women’s Professional Lacrosse League (WPLL) and the New York Lizards (Lizards) of Major League Lacrosse (MLL) are pleased to announce a double-header on Saturday, June 30th at James Shuart Stadium in Hempstead, NY. The WPLL will play the first game of the day, with the New York Fight taking on the Upstate Pride. The MLL game will follow with the New York Lizards hosting the Ohio Machine

The Fight and the Pride will play at 3:30pm, followed by the Lizards and the Machine playing at 7pm. A ticket will give you access to both games that day.

Prior to the WPLL game, a group of players including midfielder Taylor Cummings, defender Alice Mercer, and goalie Molly Wolf will hold a clinic for players in grad years 2019-2026. Clinic sessions will be broken down into separate age groups, 2019-2022 and 2023-2026. The clinic gives players the chance to not only see the pros play, but to learn directly from them. 

“Long Island has a booming population of girls that play lacrosse, and many of these young athletes attend Lizards games with their families," explained WPLL founder Michele DeJuliis. “Our hope in partnering with the Lizards is to introduce these young girls to the world of women's professional lacrosse, showing them that they too can play the game that they love at the professional level.”

“We are very excited to give Lizards’ fans the chance to see the finest men’s and women’s lacrosse players compete, all in the same day. The doubleheader format will allow fans of each league to perhaps see a game they would not normally watch,” noted Lizards CEO Jeffrey Rudnick.

A full WPLL schedule for the 2018 season will be announced later this month. The 13-game schedule will include 10 regular season games, two semi-final games, and a championship game. Each team will play at least one game in their home market.

To see the full 2018 schedule for the New York Lizards as well as more information on the team, visit

About Women’s Professional Lacrosse League

Founded in 2017, the WPLL is a two-part operation: it is both a professional lacrosse league and a development program for the rising talent in the sport. With both the 5 professional teams and the 36 youth teams that the WPLL fields across the country, the league prioritizes character development as a means for players to find success on and off of the field. The WPLL and its programs are designed to support the growth of girls and women to excel in life, which includes encouraging their dreams, supporting their pursuit of them, and fostering an environment in which they can practice creativity and innovation. Based out of Pennington, NJ, the WPLL is made up of five professional teams: the Baltimore Brave, New England Command, New York Fight, Philadelphia Fire, and Upstate Pride. For more information, please visit

About New York Lizards

The New York Lizards of Major League Lacrosse (MLL) were founded in 2001 as one of the original six franchises. Formerly the Long Island Lizards, the team won the Steinfeld Cup in its inaugural season, 2001, as well as in 2003, and 2015. The New York Lizards are owned by majority owner Medallion Financial Corp, Vice Chairman, Richard Mack, and other investors.  In the upcoming 2018 season, the Lizards will play all seven of their home games at Hofstra University’s James M. Shuart Stadium.  For more information or to purchase tickets, please go to

About Major League Lacrosse

Major League Lacrosse (MLL), the premier professional outdoor lacrosse league, was founded by Jake Steinfeld and is headquartered in Boston, Massachusetts. Major League Lacrosse commenced play in 2001 and its eighteenth season will begin in April 2018.  MLL has continued to lead the sport of lacrosse into the mainstream of competitive team sports. The league is made up of nine teams: The Atlanta Blaze, Boston Cannons, Charlotte Hounds, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Dallas Rattlers, Denver Outlaws, Florida Launch, New York Lizards, and the Ohio Machine.